Governance Documents

How SUS Works

The Science Undergraduate Society operates a $220k + budget and is governed by policies evoked by the AMS and the Science Student body. If you want to learn more, you can find the attached governance documents as well meeting minutes from your elected student body.  

The UBC Science Undergraduate Society (SUS) aims to provide science students with academic resources, professional development opportunities, and a wide range of events to improve their experience in the Faculty of Science. SUS comprises of 8 portfolios, each led by an elected Executive who is tasked with overseeing an area of SUS’ operations that cater to its internal structure, or those that directly impact students. Council, composed of the Executives and elected Representatives from each department, functions as SUS’ decision-making body and acts as a platform for students to speak on issues that concern their academic experience. Each Departmental Representative and Executive is elected by their peers during our Fall Elections and Spring Elections respectively. Every science student is a member of SUS and can get involved through voting, participating in Elections, or by volunteering with us!

Governance Documents

The following documents outline how the SUS is organized, how the student fees are used, how decisions are made on behalf of Science Students and the responsibilities of elected officials. 

2022/2023 Term 1 Projected Budget 

2022/2023 Term 1 Actual Budget

Last Revised: April 15th, 2023

For further inquires/concerns, please contact our VP Finance at

SUS Code and Procedure Document

Last Revised: April 4th, 2023 

For further inquiries/concerns please contact our VP Admin at

Office Hours

Each executive is required to sit on 2 hours of office hours every week. Their office hours can be found listed below. 

Gahan Diwan – VP Communications  – 10:00 am-12:00 pm

Andrew Feng – VP Internal – 12:00-2:00 pm

Harjot Uppal – President  12:00-2:00 pm

Grayden Zaleski – Building Manager  – 4:00-5:00 pm

Trushaan Bundhoo – Building Manager – 1o:00 am- 12:00 pm

Katie – Building Supervisor  – 12:00-2:00 pm

Grayden Zaleski – Building Manager  – 2:00-3:00 pm

Kaye Chan – VP Finance – 3:30-4:00 pm

Anushka – Building Supervisor  – 4:00-5:00 pm

Janice – Building Supervisor – 10:00 – 11:00 am

Robbie – Building Supervisor – 11:00 am – 12:00 pm

Janice – Building Supervisor – 12:00 – 1:00 pm

Samantha Wong – VP Student Life  – 1:00-3:00 pm

Brandon Wong – VP Administration  – 3:00-5:00 pm

Henri Li – VP Academic – 10:00 am – 12:00 pm

Kaye Chan – VP Finance – 12:30 am – 2:00 pm

David – Building Supervisor – 2:00 – 4:00 pm

Anushka – Building Supervisor  – 4:00-5:00 pm

Robie – Building Supervisor – 11:00 am – 12:00 pm

Janice – Building Supervisor – 12:00 am – 1:00 pm

Eric – Building Supervisor – 2:00 – 5:00 pm


Meetings and Minutes

All SUS meetings are open to Science students to attend unless otherwise stated. All meeting minutes on the present website are updated for the 2022/2023 academic year. If you wish to access the meeting minutes of previous years, please email our VP Admin at

Council Meeting Minutes 

Council normally runs every Tuesday on a bi-weekly schedule beginning from 6:30 PM at the Micheal Kingsmill Forum located at the 4th floor of the AMS Nest. (With the exception of the summer, where they run monthly and the month of September, where no council meetings are held due to elections)

The meeting minutes are being updated periodically. 

Executive Meeting Minutes 

Executive Meetings normally run every Tuesday on a bi-weekly schedule beginning from 5:00 pm in the Abdul Lahda Science Student Building, Meeting Room 103.

The meeting minutes will be updated periodically. 

Scroll to Top